The Secret Recipe of Comment Spam Comments

JenT:

Because it bears repeating.

It seems there’s been a recent uptick in the number of spam comments getting through Akismet’s filters. If you see comments like these waiting for your approval (i.e. *not* already in your spam folder), mark them as spam and only spam. Do not put them in the trash folder.

On the other side of the pond, UK users who are customers of BT or Sky broadband have been finding that their comments are inadvertently being marked as spam. If you are a user that fits that description, please fill out the contact form on the Akismet website or email the folks at Akismet support (support AT akismet DOT com) and make sure to mention that you are a UK community member and your Internet Service Provider.

Related: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/25/whats-the-deal-with-spam/

Originally posted on Lorelle on WordPress:

Articles about blogging tipsMr. Louis Vuitton just sent me a message in my blog comments I’d like to share with you. I share this touching message because it is highly educational when it comes to the art of spam comments, and serves to remind us of why we love having Akismet, the best comment spam fighter, on our WordPress sites.

It is really self-explanatory, but if you need translation, I will do so after the following quoted comment. I’ve broken it up into sections to make it easier to read.

{{I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is} pretty worth enough for me.
{In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|website owners|web owners} and bloggers made good content as you did, the
{internet|net|web} will be {much more|a lot more} useful than ever before.

I {couldn’t|could not} {resist|refrain from} commenting…

View original 3,471 more words

Kvetch or kvell!

